The Scientific Council of the Institute (SCI) was established and operates in accordance with the provisions of the law 4386/2016 and the Internal Regulations of N.C.S.R. 'Demokritos'. The members of the Council (as documented in the minutes of its first session [16/07/2020]) are the following:

- Harris Pratsinis (President)
- Gerasimos Voutsinas (Member)
- Maria Konstantopoulou (Member)
- Vassiliki Labropoulou (Member)
- Athina Tzinia (Member)
- Kostakou Athanasia (elected representative of the scientific, technical and administrative personnel, without the right to vote)